Back to Top

Wests Tigers head to Townsville hoping to rope in Cowboys

After their scrappy 28-16 win over the Bulldogs last Sunday, the Wests Tigers will be looking to add another scalp to the six they have so far when they take on Todd Payten’s North Queensland Cowboys this weekend.

The former premiership player for the Wests Tigers has seen his side struggle all year and has barely got out of first gear.

One of their few good performances was against the Wests Tigers at the hallowed field of Leichhardt Oval, when they held on to win 34-30 in a tribute match to the late Tommy Raudonikis.

Wests Tigers have to win all of their remaining four games against Cowboys, Sharks, Penrith and Bulldogs, and hope that results go their way.

The truth is it’s a tall order.

It doesn’t help when players like Moses Mbye and James Tamou get selected week after week despite indifferent performances.

Indeed Wests Tigers coach Michael Maguire has confirmed an unchanged side for the 5.30pm game on Saturday at Queensland Country Bank Stadium.

Michael Chee Kam and Tommy Talau remain in the centres while Joe Ofahengaue, Kelma Tuilagi, Alex Twal and Zac Cini will also all feature on a reshuffled bench.

On top of that there will be minor jersey number changes occurring to a new playing strip this weekend when Wests Tigers will wear its Women in League jersey for the first time this season as it joins the NRL in celebrating its annual Women in League Round. Adam Doueihi joined some fans to try the jerseys (at right).

The team is:

1. Moses Mbye
2. David Nofoaluma
3. Tommy Talau
4. Michael Chee Kam
5. Ken Maumalo
6. Adam Doueihi
7. Luke Brooks
8. Stefano Utoikamanu
9. Jacob Liddle
10. James Tamou (captain)
11. Shawn Blore
12. Luciano Leilua
13. Thomas Mikaele

14. Joe Ofahengaue
15. Kelma Tuilagi
16. Alex Twal
17. Zac Cini

18. Jake Simpkin
19. Tuki Simpkins
20. Jock Madden
21. James Roberts

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

We Support