Back to Top

New recruit Maumalo to face Storm two weeks in a row

Ken Maumalo, the new recruit for Wests Tigers, can be excused if he is a bit confused when he lines up against Melbourne Storm this Saturday.

On the weekend the big winger played his last game for the NZ Warriors, and it was, you guessed it, against the Storm.

Having signed up for the Wests Tigers and given an early release from his contract to join them, Maumalo has been rushed into the side named to faced Craig Bellamy’s juggernaut  at their current home, Sunshine Coast Stadium.

Maumalo finished his Warriors career with a hat-trick of tries, although his team were at the wrong end of the scoreboard, losing to the Storm 42-16.

Down south, his new team were not faring much better, capitulating to the Parramatta Eels 40-12.

It was a diabolical performance from Wests Tigers, who were shooting for three wins on the trot.

They basically lost the game in a 10 minute period when they had a man in the sin bin and Parramatta tore them to shreds, scoring three quick tries.

Incredibly, 14 rounds in and with just five wins to their credit, Wests Tigers are still in the hunt to play finals footy.

With St George also losing on the weekend, the Wests Tigers are just two points from eighth spot and two wins from sixth and seventh spot on the ladder.

Maumalo will become Wests Tigers Player #246 this weekend after being named to start on the wing against the Storm – and may he score another hat-trick.

Coach Michael Maguire has shifted outside back James Roberts from the wing into the centres to make way for Maumalo. Adam Doueihi was not named in this week’s squad following last weekend’s failed HIA against the Parramatta Eels.

Experienced playmaker Moses Mbye returns to the lineup at five-eighth after missing the match due to a minor knee complaint and will partner Luke Brooks in the halves. Maguire has named an unchanged interchange bench with four forwards: Stefano Utoikamanu, Shawn Blore, Tom Amone and Alex Seyfarth selected.


1. Daine Laurie
2. David Nofoaluma
3. Tommy Talau
4. James Roberts
5. Ken Maumalo
6. Moses Mbye
7. Luke Brooks
8. James Tamou (captain)
9. Jacob Liddle
10. Alex Twal
11. Luke Garner
12. Luciano Leilua
13. Joe Ofahengaue

14. Stefano Utoikamanu
15. Shawn Blore
16. Tom Amone
17. Alex Seyfarth

18. Michael Chee Kam
19. Kelma Tuilagi
20. Junior Pauga
21. Jake Simpkin

We Support