Back to Top

Groundhog day is here again Wests Tigers fans

Daine Laurie wearing the jersey Wests Tigers will play in for Indigenous round against St George this Friday night

Every Tuesday must seem like groundhog day for long suffering Wests Tigers fans.

It’s always how much they lost by the previous match and what changes coach Michael Maguire has made for the next round.

That’s been the story so far in 2021, with three exceptions, representing the three times the joint venture players were able to sing the team victory song from 11 attempts.

Players are returning after being dropped or being dropped after returning, with the odd debut thrown in for good measure.

In other words, folks, sorry, but there’s not much to write about once again following the 30-26 loss to the New Zealand Warriors in Gosford last Friday.

However, the season is gone and the time has come to admit to the painful truth that certain players, including captain James Tamou, James Roberts and Moses Mbye, need to go and make way for young blood.

What’s he got to lose would be a fair question to the coach.

But looking at Michael Maguire’s changes for his side’s Round 12 clash against the St George-Illawarra Dragons at Bankwest Stadium, he doesn’t seem to share this view – yet.

You really have got to feel sorry for Daine Laurie, Luke Brooks, Adam Doueihi, all the ones putting in every week and coming up empty.

James Roberts has been named to return from injury to play in the NRL’s Indigenous Round, having missed the last four weeks with a pectoral complaint.
Roberts has been named on the wing with Tommy Talau shifting to centre in place of Joey Leilua, who drops out of the side.
Tom Amone has been named on the bench for his first game in Wests Tigers colours and is set to become Wests Tigers player #245 and the ninth player to make their club debut this season.

Amone previously played nine games for the South Sydney Rabbitohs in 2019 and 2020, before joining Wests Tigers ahead of the 2021 NRL season.
Amone joins Shawn Blore, Alex Seyfarth and Thomas Mikaele as part of a four-forward interchange bench, with Jake Simpkin dropping back to the reserves alongside Stefano Utoikamanu, Michael Chee Kam and NSW Cup outside back Kiah Cooper.

Kick off is 7.55pm.

1. Daine Laurie
2. David Nofoaluma
3. Adam Doueihi
4. Tommy Talau
5. James Roberts
6. Moses Mbye
7. Luke Brooks
8. James Tamou (captain)
9. Jacob Liddle
10. Alex Twal
11. Luke Garner
12. Luciano Leilua
13. Joe Ofahengaue

14. Tom Amone
15. Shawn Blore
16. Alex Seyfarth
17. Thomas Mikaele

18. Michael Chee Kam
19. Jake Simpkin
20. Stefano Utoikamanu
21. Kiah Cooper

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

We Support