Fans still upset over diabolical performance at Campbelltown

Photo of author

If Wests Tigers play as poorly this weekend against the Sharks as they did against the Knights in Campbelltown on Sunday, they will be in for a long day at the office.

They were missing in action for the first 40 times in what can be described as a diabolical effort coming after a month of improvement.

Indeed the game was lost in the first half when the Newcastle side scored all their points (14).

And while Wests Tigers came to life in the second stanza it wasn’t enough to overcome the first half deficit.

It’s true that the team is only playing for pride, but going down 14-10 to a mob that was going through a world of troubles leading up to the encounter was very disappointing for the fans who turned out.

There were almost 10,000 there, a decent figure when you consider the circumstances: a home team that plays at Campbelltown just three times a year and having a terrible season.

Given a decent team that plays here a bit more, maybe 8-10 games a season, crowd numbers will rarely fall below 15,000 in my opinion.

The club is about to make a decision on all that and we wish them luck.

In the meantime, a 22-man squad has been named for Saturday’s Round 22 match against Cronulla Sharks at Scully Park, Tamworth.

Ken Maumalo has been ruled out with a knee injury which sees the return of James Roberts to the side.

Roberts will slot into the centres with Starford To’a shifting to the wing.

Zane Musgrove has been named to start at prop, pushing Joe Ofahengaue to lock and Fonua Pole to the bench.

Ofahengaue will make his 149th NRL appearance.

In some positive news, talented centre Asu Kepaoa has extended his contract with the club ahead of this weekend’s road trip to Tamworth.

The 22-year-old centre was off contract at the end of next season but will now be with the club until at least the end of the 2024 season.

Wests Tigers v Cronulla Sharks, 5.30pm Saturday, August 13, Scully Park, Tamworth
1. Daine Laurie
2. Brent Naden
3. James Roberts
4.  Asu Kepaoa
5.  Starford To’a
6.  Adam Doueihi
7.  Jock Madden
8.  James Tamou
9.  Fa’amanu Brown  
10. Zane Musgrove  
11. Alex Seyfarth
12. Kelma Tuilagi  
13. Joe Ofahengaue

14. Fonua Pole
15. Austin Dias
16. Tom Freebairn
17. Tyrone Peachey

18. Luke Garner  
19. Jake Simpkin
20. Brandon Tumeth  
21. Junior Tupou
22. Justin Matamua

Leave a Comment