Award for volunteers, heart of our community

Photo of author

Good work, young man: Russell Matheson with 2014 volunteer of the year Adam Saiba on Friday.

Adam Taiba has been named the 2014 Volunteer of the Year for Macarthur in a ceremony at Campbelltown Arts Centre today.

The Currans Hill resident has been instrumental in raising awareness amongst young people about the consequences of alcohol fuelled violence.

After his father was king hit in September 2013, Adam started a campaign to spread the message about the dangers, effects and consequences of alcohol to students across Macarthur.

Macarthur MP Russell Matheson hosted the annual awards program to recognise the outstanding contribution volunteers make to the Macarthur community.

Mr Matheson said Adam was a great asset to this community and should be very proud of this award.

“Adam’s commitment to raising awareness of alcohol fuelled violence amongst young people is an important preventative initiative.

“The way Adam has approached his campaign has been inspirational to all those who have seen him in action.’’

Mr Matheson said his office had received a record number of nominations for the awards – 71 in total.

“It’s fantastic to see so many of our hard-working volunteers recognised for the time, effort and dedication they put in to helping others and making Macarthur such a lovely place to live.

“Our volunteers are the heart and soul of this community, without them so many of our charity groups, businesses, sporting clubs and organisations wouldn’t survive.

“I’d like to congratulate everyone who was nominated for an award this year, especially those who have won their category.”

Mr Matheson with all of the 2014 winners

This year’s nominees came from all over Macarthur, representing thousands of volunteers who help out in our community each week.

And the winners were:

MP Volunteer of the Year, Adam Taiba.

Junior Volunteer Award, Danielle Santos

Youth Volunteer Award, Nicholas Palmer

Senior Volunteer Award, Vic Boardman

Senior Volunteer Award, Marian Martin

Business Volunteer Award, Marina Mikulic – Symphony’s on Argyle

Education Volunteer Award, Rural Fire Service Macarthur Zone Community Education Team

Emergency Management Award, Christopher Wright

Environment Volunteer Award, Stephen Cooper

Innovation in Volunteering Award, Macquarie Fields TAFE Cert 3 Design Technology Team

Long-term Commitment to Community Service Award, Phil Vale

New Organisation Volunteer Award, Sector Connect Volunteer Light Ridge Drivers

Volunteering in Sport Award, South West Sydney Academy of Sport Volunteers

Volunteering Organisation Award, Focus on Families, Macarthur

School Volunteer Award, Terri Anderson

Leave a Comment