Back to Top

Tenacious Wests Tigers set for Eels test

Their new found resilience will be under scrutiny once again when the Wests Tigers run out to Bankwest Stadium to take on Parramatta in round six on Easter Monday.

Head coach Michael Maguire has just named the same 17 players who featured in last Thursday’s heart stopping win over the Broncos in Brisbane.

The 22-16 victory was iced in the last minute of the match, when a whirlwind run by Michael Chee Kam ended with him planting the ball over the try line.

Wests Tigers celebrate their last gasp win over the Broncos in Brisbane.

The third win of the season was also the sweetest for the West Tigers as it followed the heart breaking 9-8 loss to Penrith the previous week in golden point.

In years gone by the Wests Tigers would have folded the tent after such a defeat, but Maguire has instilled the kind of resilience that can win you premierships.

The bookies certainly agree and are now offering $23 for a Wests Tigers premiership.

Not that Maguire -or Roosters and Melbourne – would be taking any notice of what the bookies think.

Josh Reynolds has retained his spot at five-eighth with Benji Marshall (hamstring) still unavailable for selection for the Eels clash

Robert Jennings has also been named to play in the centres, and will undergo the appropriate concussion protocols throughout the week after being forced off in Brisbane.

Having made a successful return from injury via Canterbury Cup last Sunday, David Nofoaluma has been named in the extended squad amongst the reserves: Paul Momirovski, Elijah Taylor and Chris McQueen.

Chris Lawrence (jaw), Oliver Clark (knee) and Jacob Liddle (ankle) are unavailable.

Wests Tigers v Parramatta Eels:

1. Moses Mbye (captain.)

2. Mahe Fonua

3. Robert Jennings

4. Esan Marsters

5. Corey Thompson

6. Josh Reynolds

7. Luke Brooks

8. Russell Packer

9. Robbie Farah

10. Alex Twal

11. Ryan Matterson

12. Luke Garner

13. Josh Aloiai


14. Ben Matulino

15. Thomas Mikaele

16. Matt Eisenhuth

17. Michael Chee Kam


18. Paul Momirovski

19. Elijah Taylor

20. David Nofoaluma

21. Chris McQueen

We Support