Back to Top

Injuries mean more lineup changes

Two weeks ago a frustrated Wests Tigers coach Michael Maguire made sweeping changes to his side.

Out went Benji Marshall, as well as a number of other big names after a terrible performance in the loss to the Gold Coast Titans.

After the team lost the next game to Canberra, Maguire kept the axe busy, making more changes for the clash with the North Queensland Cowboys last Saturday night at Campbelltown Sports Stadium.

Wests Tigers went to the half time break with a 34-0 lead, mostly because the visitors’ defence left gaps big enough to drive a Mac truck through them.

But of course as Wests fans know only too well, with their team, it ain’t over until it’s over.

The Cows came roaring back in the second half, scoring four straight tries and were unlucky not to have two more added to their tally.

Wests Tigers scored just the one penalty goal in the last 40 minutes, but hung on to win 36-20.

In the wake of that terrible second half performance, Maguire would have been entitled to take the axe to a couple more players.

However injuries have intervened so there was no wiggle room for more changes based on form when he named his side for Sunday night’s match with the Bulldogs.

Robert Jennings (hamstring), Zane Musgrove (foot) and Alex Twal (knee) have been replaced by Tommy Talau, Oliver Clark and Elijah Taylor.

Last week’s debutant Sam McIntyre retains his spot on the bench after a strong showing on debut.

In form second rower Luciano Leilua, pictured above, is set to play his 50th NRL game on Sunday as Maguire’s men continue to search for two wins on the trot for the first time this year.
All this means that club legend Benji Marshall is still on the outer, and it’s anybody’s guess if he will be picked again or indeed if he has played his last NRL game.

The match with the Bulldogs is at Bankwest Stadium, with a 6.30pm kick off.


1. Adam Doueihi
2. David Nofoaluma
3. Joey Leilua
4. Moses Mbye (captain)
5. Tommy Talau
6. Josh Reynolds
7. Luke Brooks
8. Josh Aloiai
9. Harry Grant
10. Oliver Clark
11. Luke Garner
12. Luciano Leilua
13. Matt Eisenhuth
14. Elijah Taylor
15. Thomas Mikaele
16. Sam McIntyre
17. Michael Chee Kam
18. Benji Marshall
19. Chris Lawrence
20. Billy Walters
21. Reece Hoffman

We Support