Back to Top

Image of dark and stormy night in Harrington Park takes the prize

Photography is just a hobby for Harrington Park resident and university student Ian Hollis.

He admits taking this picture, which was named the winner of the landscapes category in this year’s Macarthur nature photography competition, required nerves of steel and the determination of a professional photographer.

“I captured the winning image during an intense lighting storm as it rolled over the region,’’ he said after accepting his award at the presentation ceremony in Camden Civic Centre on November 1.

“Soaking wet and freezing cold, I watched the epic bolts getting closer and closer to the Harrington Park Lake, where I was shooting,’’ Mr Hollis said.

“I had to leave before they hit for obvious safety reasons, but that shot is special to me as I was able to capture my home in a unique image.

“Winning was such a great feeling. I really enjoyed seeing everyone else’s images tonight and meeting new like-minded people from the area.

“I am a full-time university student, so photography is a hobby of mine,” said Mr Hollis, who was one of 24 winners and 23 highly commended entrants recognised across the seven categories.

Mayor of Camden, Cr Theresa Fedeli, said residents would be able to admire this year’s entries at Narellan Town Centre, this year’s major sponsor of the annual competition.

 “Each entry will be on display from November 4 for 10 days, right near the centre management’s office,” Cr Fedeli said.

 “I am always in awe of the photos submitted as part of this competition, which we run in partnership with Campbelltown and Wollondilly Councils.

“The talent right across the Macarthur region is just phenomenal and our natural landscape is just so beautiful.”

The winners included:

  • Flora
    • Chloe McEwen – Primary first place winner;
    • Evie Hay – Primary second place winner;
    • Paige Jenart– High School first place winner;
    • Jade Pritchard – High School second place winner;
    • Glenn Smith – Open first place winner; and
    • Andrew Lake – Open second place winner.
  • Fauna
    • Finn McEvoy-King – Primary first place winner;
    • Hayley Lorenz – Primary second place winner;
    • Isabelle Robertson – High School first place winner;
    • Tess McEvoy-King – High School second place winner;
    • Owen Sinden – Open first place winner; and
    • Lorraine McKenzie – Open second place winner.
  • Waterways
    • Kaitlin Tattersall – Primary first place winner;
    • Luke Clark – Primary second place winner;
    • Isabelle Robertson – High School first place winner;
    • Kelly Taylor – High School second place winner;
    • Lyn Forbes – Open first place winner; and
    • Long Huang – Open second place winner.
  • Experience Nature
    • Hayden Wilson – Primary winner;
    • Breanna Childs – High School winner; and
    • Bron King – Open winner.
  • Landscapes of Macarthur
    • Domonique Sidoruk – Primary winner;
    • Jack Beeby – High School winner; and
    • Ian Hollis – Open winner.
  • Warragamba Public School – winning primary school; and
  • John Therry Catholic High School – winning high school.