Back to Top

Gunners and Tigers ready to defend their M-League titles

When it comes to football, the M-League rules supreme in the Macarthur region.

Boasting top quality senior men’s and women’s competitions, the M-League is about to launch into a new season.

And the players can’t wait – especially the two teams that won the respective competitions last season: Camden Tigers in the women’s and Gunners SC in the men’s competition.

At last week’s official launch of the season at Lynwood Park, the South West Voice in Macarthur spoke to Leyla Radu, of the Camden Tigers, who defeated Gunners 1-0 in the 2018 decider.

Premiership winners from last year, Leyla Radu (Camden Tigers) and Bradley Naden (Gunners SC), with players representing the M-League clubs in the background at the new season launch in Lynwood Park last week.

“Going back to back would be good, but let’s see how we go,’’ Radu said.

This year’s squad has a lot to live up to: the Tigers didn’t just win the grand final – they also went through the season undefeated.

“A couple of players are gone from last year’s squad, but we have recruited a couple of capable replacements, so still looking good and we’re really looking forward to the season,’’ Radu said.

In the first round of the competition the Tigers will be away to Eschol Park on Sunday, March 23.

Bradley Naden, of the Gunners SC, who defeated Camden Tigers 6-3 in the 2018 men’s grand final, says the premiers have a new coach but “we’ll be right, we’ll go good’’.

“There’s no talk of going back to back from the boys,’’ Naden said.

“We’re just getting our preseason right and we’ll see how our first game goes.

“But we’re looking forward to the start of the new season,’’ he said.

The Gunners kick of the defence of their title in an away match against Oran Park at Jack Brabham Reserve this Saturday, March 16.

In the other two men’s games, it’s Camden Tigers v Narellan Rangers, 5pm and 7pm at Ron Dine Memorial Reserve and on Sunday Mt Annan v Harrington United, 1pm and 3pm, at Birriwa Reserve.

The M-League women’s competition, which has grown exponentially over the past few season, features the following eight clubs:

  • Oran Park Rovers Football Club
  • Harrington United Football Club
  • Camden Tigers Football Club
  • Narellan Rangers Soccer Club
  • Camden Falcons Football Club
  • Ingleburn Eagle Soccer Club
  • Eschol Park Football Club
  • Tahmoor Taipans Soccer Club

The full 2019 season fixture is available at

We Support