Back to Top

Group 6 sets date for 2020 season start

Three local derbies will help kick off the 2020 season of Group 6 rugby league.

The NSWRL, which now oversees the running of the competition, has confirmed that it will start on Sunday, July 19, 2020.

The Thirlmere Roosters will host Picton Magpies in what will be a replay of the epic grand final from 2019.

The Roosters, pictured above celebrating, prevailed 38-36 in a game that will be remembered for a long time and just maybe the Magpies will be looking to turn the tables on July 19.

In the other round one clashes, the Narellan Jets and Camden Rams will face off, while Oakdale Workers, the feel good story of last season, will take on neighbours The Oaks Tigers at Sid Sharpe Memorial Oval.

In the fourth match of round one and only non local derby, Mittagong Lions will lock horns with the Campbelltown City Kangaroos at Mittagong Showground.

All four games from the eight team competition will start from 3pm.

While the NSWRL has issued the draw for a shortened season over seven rounds in which every team plays all others once, the finals series format is yet to be determined.

It is believed cricket requirements later in the year have meant the football codes will have shortened seasons in 2020.

Either way, July looks set to be the month when most sporting codes return to the field.

In Macarthur, soccer’s popular M-League is scheduled to start from July 4, with the draw to be confirmed in the next day or two.

The AFL Sydney Premier competition, which includes Macarthur representatives the Camden Cats, is also set to return early in July but a specific date is yet to be confirmed.

Rugby union has no plans for an Illawarra premiership competition in 2020, which will mean the Campbelltown Harlequins won’t see week to week action this year.

We Support