Back to Top

Wests Tigers keen to farewell Benji, Chris with win over the Eels

Pride is the only thing the Wests Tigers can play for when they run on to the field for their final match of the 2020 season this Saturday against the Parramatta Eels.

After a humiliating 50-22 defeat at the hands of the ruthless Melbourne Storm last weekend, Michael Maguire’s players will be keen send out as winners the retiring Chris Lawrence and Benji Marshall.

Both have been named to start in their final game for the club and Wests Tigers fans will be hoping their swansong is a happy one.

Having confirmed his retirement at season’s end, Lawrence will play his 253rd and final game for Wests Tigers while Marshall will bring up his 257th Wests Tigers appearance, with the pair trailing only Robbie Farah (277 games) in games played for the club.
With co-captain Moses Mbye sidelined following knee surgery, Marshall has been named as sole captain and will start in the halves alongside Luke Brooks, who returns from a one game suspension.
Brooks is one of several new faces in the side named to face Parramatta with Alex Twal, Shawn Blore, Michael Chee Kam and Tommy Talau all returning to the squad.
Talau will start in the centres in place of Joey Leilua, who drops back to the reserves, while Twal returns from an illness that ruled him out of last week’s game against Melbourne.

Don’t ask me, I don’t know why I won’t be at Wests Tigers next year: Benji was in scintillating form against the Storm last week, but it was not enough.

Chee Kam and Blore return to the side after extended absences from the squad.

Chee Kam is set for his first game since Round 11 while Blore has not played since Round 16.

They will take the place of Russell Packer and Sam McIntyre, who are both ruled out with concussion.
Zane Musgrove will also start his first game since Round 6 as he replaces the injured Josh Aloiai (knee).
Saturday’s game will also see Wests Tigers local junior Adam Doueihi also bring up his 50th NRL appearance having not missed a game for the club in 2020.

Chris Lawrence is also saying goodbye for good.

Doueihi is joined by Samoan internationals David Nofoaluma and Luciano Leilua as the only players to feature in every game for Wests Tigers this year.

1. Adam Doueihi
2. David Nofoaluma
3. Tommy Talau
4. Chris Lawrence
5. Asu “AJ” Kepaoa
6. Benji Marshall (captain)
7. Luke Brooks
8. Zane Musgrove
9. Harry Grant
10. Thomas Mikaele
11. Luke Garner
12. Luciano Leilua
13. Alex Twal
14. Matt Eisenhuth
15. Elijah Taylor
16. Shawn Blore
17. Michael Chee Kam

18. Alex Seyfarth
19. Jacob Liddle
20. Josh Reynolds
21. Joseph Leilua

We Support