Back to Top

Benji Marshall poised to join the exclusive 300 club

Benji Marshall will become the 38th player in premiership history to reach 300 games when Wests Tigers take on the Parramatta Eels this Sunday at Bankwest Stadium.

Marshall has once again been named in the halves alongside Luke Brooks by coach Michael Maguire in what will be his 300th NRL game and 233rd game for Wests Tigers.

The wizard five-eighth played 54 games for the St George-Illawarra Dragons between 2014 and 2016 and 13 games for the Brisbane Broncos in 2017.

In reaching the special milestone, the 34-year-old becomes just the fifth player to reach 300 NRL games having played for Wests Tigers during their career – joining John Morris and Adam Blair as well as Scott Prince and Chris Heighington, who were part of the club’s 2005 premiership winning side alongside Marshall.

Marshall’s current total of 232 games for Wests Tigers remains the second-most games played for the club, behind only Robbie Farah (currently 271 games).

Wests Tigers head in to Sunday’s home game against the Parramattta Eels with a good run of form despite last week’s close loss to the Roosters.

Maguire’s side have won two of their last three matches, and will welcome back captain Moses Mbye this week following his State of Origin commitments on Wednesday.

Mbye has been named to return in the centres after being unavailable last week, with Paul Momirovski dropping back to the reserves in the only change this week.

Ben Matulino (knee) remains sidelined, allowing Josh Aloiai to start up front alongside Alex Twal, with Matt Eisenhuth once again filling the lock role.

Robert Jennings has been named on the wing despite being forced off last week with a nasty cut to the head, with Michael Chee Kam on the bench.

After sitting out last week’s Canterbury Cup clash against North Sydney with a groin strain, Josh Reynolds has been named alongside Momirovski in the reserves, with Chris McQueen and Oliver Clark rounding out Wests Tigers’ 21-man squad.

Both sides will provide an updated 19-man team list for the Round 17 clash at 4:05pm on Saturday with final team lists to be confirmed one hour prior to kick-off.

Sunday’s game will be Wests Tigers’ final home game of the year at Bankwest Stadium, having played three of their past four matches at the venue.

1. Corey Thompson
2. Robert Jennings
3. Moses Mbye (captain)
4. Esan Marsters
5. David Nofoaluma
6. Benji Marshall
7. Luke Brooks
8. Josh Aloiai
9. Robbie Farah
10. Alex Twal
11. Ryan Matterson
12. Chris Lawrence
13. Matt Eisenhuth
14. Jacob Liddle
15. Thomas Mikaele
16. Elijah Taylor
17. Michael Chee Kam
18. Paul Momirovski
19. Chris McQueen
20. Josh Reynolds
21. Oliver Clark

We Support