Wests Tigers team changes more often than the weather

Photo of author

You’ve got to feel for Benji Marshall: first season as head coach and everything that could go wrong already has – just 14 rounds in.

Injuries, suspensions, sin bins, rank stupidity from some of his players, bunker blunder or three, you name it, Benji’s experienced it.

You might say that’s why he gets the big bucks, but fair dinkum, who would be a coach?

Every Tuesday poor Benji has had to reshuffle the pack, replace an injured or suspended player.

Really, the Wests Tigers teams in 2024 so far contain more changes than the weather.

For Saturday’s Round 15 match against the Gold Coast Titans at Leichhardt Oval, Marshall has had to do it one more time.

There are a handful of changes – surely an understatement – to the side which lost to the Dragons in Round 14.

For the record, after leading 14-2 at half time, Wests Tigers imploded in the second half to go down to the Dragons 56-14.

It was their worst defeat this season, and the ninth loss in a row – again for the record.

The changes for Round 15 include a new-look halves pairing and a change at dummy half.

Api Koroisau will shift from hooker to halfback replacing Jayden Sullivan (hand) in the No.7 jersey with Aidan Sezer replacing Lachlan Galvin (rested) at five-eighth.

Campbelltown junior Tallyn Da Silva replaces Koroisau at hooker for his first NRL appearance this season, while Sezer returns to the team after serving a four-match suspension.

The other change in the forwards sees Fonua Pole named in the second row with Alex Seyfarth named on the bench.

Charlie Staines reverts to the wing for Solomon Alaimalo (HIA) with Brent Naden named in the centres, and Solomona Faataape added to the bench.

Adam Doueihi has been named in the extended squad for the first time since rupturing his ACL in Round 6, 2023.

Wests Tigers will be resting the No.1 jersey in honour of the late Keith Barnes as this will be the club’s first game back at Leichhardt Oval since the recent passing of the Balmain Tigers’ legend.


1.  Jahream Bula

2.  Alex Lobb

3.  Brent Naden

4.  Justin Olam

5.  Charlie Staines

6.  Aidan Sezer

7.  Api Koroisau (C)

8.  Stefano Utoikamanu

9.  Tallyn Da Silva

10.  Alex Twal

11.  Fonua Pole

12.  Samuela Fainu

13. Justin Matamua


14. Alex Seyfarth

15. Sione Fainu

16. Reuben Porter

17. Solomona Faataape


18. Kit Laulilii

Leave a Comment