Wests Tigers name seven in 2017 leadership team

Photo of author

Aaron Woods, centre, with the members of the new leadership team at Wests Tigers.
The magnificent seven: skipper Aaron Woods, centre, with the members of the new leadership team at Wests Tigers: from left, Tim Grant, James Tedesco, Chris Lawrence, Matt Ballin, Elijah Taylor and Mitchell Moses.

Wests Tigers have unveiled a new, seven-man leadership team for the 2017 season.

Aaron Woods, who will also continue on as captain, is one of the seven.

The others Chris Lawrence, Matt Ballin, Tim Grant, Mitchell Moses, Elijah Taylor and James Tedesco.

Lawrence will be joined by Ballin as the team’s two vice-captains following the retirement of Dene Halatau at the end of 2016.

Grant, Moses and Taylor are the new additions to the group for the 2017 season.
Wests Tigers CEO Justin Pascoe said the group includes a good mix of players who have been identified as having strong leadership qualities.

“I would like to congratulate the seven players who have been chosen to form the club’s leadership group,” he said.

“Aaron did a great job leading the team in 2016 and he is joined by a well-balanced group of players who will continue to emphasise the importance of building a positive culture at Wests Tigers.’’

Head coach Jason Taylor said that he looked forward to working closely with the leadership group.

“As a club, I think we’ve made really great development in this leadership area,” he said.

“It’s really exciting for me to have a group of strong leaders that are so committed and focused on the improvement of firstly themselves, but also their teammates.

[social_quote duplicate=”no” align=”default”]“Since he was appointed with the captaincy, Aaron has been superb to work with and I think he’s taken another step again since he’s been away with the Kangaroos,” he added.[/social_quote]

“He’s come back with a great attitude in regards to leading the team and the club and he’s been really strong with pushing them in the right direction straight away.”

Woods, who last year captained the club to its highest finish on the ladder since 2011, said the group will focus on encouraging a strong culture.

Leave a Comment