Back to Top

Wests Tigers need Benji to weave his magic one more time

Wests Tigers playmaker Josh Reynolds has again been named at hooker for Sunday’s must-win game against the Cronulla Sharks.

It is the third game in a row coach Michael Maguire has named Reynolds in the number nine jumper.

However Reynolds has sat on the bench for the start of both previous matches and nobody expects this big game against the Sharks will be any different.

Either way it will be the 30-year-old’s 150th NRL appearance.

However individual milestones will be the last thing anyone at the club will be thinking about come kick-off time – 2pm – on Sunday at a sold out Leichhardt Oval.

For the first time in the past five or six weeks the Wests Tigers have their destiny in their own hands.

After two big wins in a row in which they scored more than 40 points against Newcastle and St George, the Wests Tigers just need to beat the Sharks to make the finals for the first time since 2011.

It’s as simple as that: win and make it; lose and they’re gone for another season.

They could finish seventh or eighth if they win, depending on the result of the earlier match between the Bulldogs and Brisbane Broncos.

Michael Maguire, pictured below, has named an unchanged side for this week’s game, but has listed injured stars Moses Mbye and Robbie Farah amongst the reserves.

Neither is likely to play, especially Farah, who has a fractured tibia.

The official club line is that Farah and Mbye “will continue to be monitored throughout the week in the lead up to Sunday’s game’’.

Benji Marshall, who has been in sensational form in recent times and indeed deserves much of the credit for recent successes, will again captain the side against the Sharks.

The veteran half has turned back the clock, especially in the last two games, to get the team home and keep their finals hopes alive.

Hopefully he can keep it going because his performance on Sunday will be crucial for Wests Tigers.

Fans will be hoping that no matter what the result is on Sunday Benji the magician will decide to go around again next year in the Wests Tigers colours.

 1. Corey Thompson
2. Robert Jennings
3. Paul Momirovski
4. Esan Marsters
5. David Nofoaluma
6. Benji Marshall (capt.)
7. Luke Brooks
8. Thomas Mikaele
9. Josh Reynolds
10. Oliver Clark
11. Luke Garner
12. Chris Lawrence
13. Ryan Matterson
14. Matt Eisenhuth
15. Elijah Taylor
16. Alex Twal
17. Michael Chee Kam
18. Tommy Talau
19. Chris McQueen
20. Moses Mbye
21. Robbie Farah

We Support