Tigers debutant Lachlan Galvin was born in club’s premiership year

Photo of author

Lachlan Galvin was born less than three months before the Wests Tigers won the 2005 NRL premiership.

The young half (pictured at right), who will make his first grade debut this Saturday against the Canberra Raiders, was born in Campbelltown on July 14, 2005.

And while every Tigers fan prays and hopes he turns out to be the real deal, it took a rookie head coach to make the bold decision to select him on the run-on side.

But of course Benji Marshall, pictured top during training this week, is no ordinary rookie coach.

After all it was the same Benji Marshall who played such a big role in the famous grand final victory over the Cowboys on October 2, 2005.

His flick pass to Pat Richards was literally a game changer, and now it looks like his flick passing days are not yet over.

Benji himself was thrown in at the deep end to launch his playing career, and he ended up becoming a rugby league legend.

This selection could be the first of many great decisions, but time will tell.

Young Galvin at five-eighth won’t be the only debutant on Saturday at GIO Stadium, with Marshall naming former Queensland Cup star Solomona Faataape in the centres.

Galvin represented the Australian Schoolboys last year after helping guide Wests Magpies to their first premiership in the Harold Matthews Cup in 2022.

Faataape joined Wests Tigers this season on a one-year development contract following a premiership-winning season with Brisbane Tigers in the 2023 Queensland Cup.

Marshall says both have worked hard for this opportunity.

“They have put in the work in pre-season and have earned their chance in the top grade,’’ he said

“It’s a special occasion for them, their families, and our team.”

Jayden Sullivan, Aidan Sezer and Samuela Fainu will also be making their first NRL appearance for Wests Tigers on Saturday.

Sullivan has been handed the number seven jersey for the season-opener with Sezer and Fainu both named on the bench.

Justin Olam has been left out of the extended squad (knee) but is expected to be available for Wests Tigers first home game of the season in Round 3 against the Sharks at Leichhardt Oval.

Latu Fainu is also unavailable (hamstring) and is expected to return in Round 4.


1.  Jahream Bula  

2.  Charlie Staines 

3.  Solomona Faataape

4.  Starford To’a

5. Junior Tupou

6.  Lachlan Galvin

7.  Jayden Sullivan

8.  David Klemmer

9.  Apisai Koroisau (c)

10.  Stefano Utoikamanu  

11.  Isaiah Papali’i 

12.  John Bateman 

13.  Alex Seyfarth 


14. Aidan Sezer

15. Fonua Pole

16.  Alex Twal 

17.  Samuela Fainu 

Leave a Comment