Back to Top

Thompson keeps Mbye out of fullback position for Wests Tigers

Wests Tigers head coach Michael Maguire has named his 21-man squad to take on the North Queensland Cowboys in Townsville for their round 14 clash this Friday night.

Wests Tigers will be looking to bounce back from a terrible loss against the Canberra Raiders in Round 13 at their new “home’’ in Parramatta when they failed to score a single point in the 28-0 defeat.

As per last week’s late change, Corey Thompson will line up at fullback after being named in the number one jersey, with captain Moses Mbye shifting to the centres.

Thompson had a terrific game in the fullback spot and deserves another chance there this week.

Robert Jennings also returns to the side in place of Mahe Fonua, who is ruled out with a foot injury, while David Nofoaluma, pictured below, retains his spot on the opposite wing.

Esan Marsters rounds out the back five – lining up once again in the centres for what will be his 50th NRL appearance.

Following a successful return from injury last week, veteran forward Chris Lawrence has been named on the bench.

Lawrence put on a brave performance and will add some steel to the side over the next few weeks.

Alongside him on the bench are Jacob Liddle, Thomas Mikaele and Josh Aloiai.

Michael Chee Kam features in the run-on side after starting last week’s game.

Paul Momirovski, Chris McQueen, Elijah Taylor and Luke Garner have been named as reserves in the 21-man squad, which will be cut to 19 players on Thursday night.

The squad is:

   1.Corey Thompson

   2. Robert Jennings

   3. Moses Mbye (captain)

    4. Esan Marsters

    5. David Nofoaluma

    6. Benji Marshall

    7. Luke Brooks

    8. Ben Matulino

    9. Robbie Farah

   10. Alex Twal

   11. Ryan Matterson

   12. Michael Chee Kam

   13. Matt Eisenhuth

   14. Jacob Liddle

   15. Thomas Mikaele

   16. Josh Aloiai

    17. Chris Lawrence

   18. Paul Momirovski

   19. Chris McQueen

   20. Elijah Taylor

   21. Luke Garner

We Support