Back to Top

Team to tackle river bushland restoration

river restoration

Restoration: Chipping Norton Lakes

Mansfield Creek and Spring Creek, St Helens Park in Campbelltown and Riverside Park, Chipping Norton in the Liverpool area are some of the Georges River bushland areas to be  restored by an Aboriginal Bush Regeneration team.

The Georges River Combined Councils’ Committee Inc. (GRCCC) has announced that the team has commenced work to restore bushland and establish ecological connectivity across 150 hectares of the Georges River catchment. The Aboriginal Bush Regeneration Team is a GRCCC Riverkeeper grant program, supported through funding by the Australian Government to manage the natural and cultural heritage of the Georges River catchment, over the next three years.

The team is made up of four Aboriginal trainees, an Aboriginal project manager and a supervisor have been employed by Eco Logical Australia Pty Ltd as a mobile team working to improve biodiversity across the catchment. The project will also provide the trainees with the opportunity to work towards the attainment of qualifications in Conservation Land Management over the next 18 months.

The GRCCC will work in partnership with representatives from the Local Aboriginal Land Councils (LALCs) within the Georges River Catchment to encourage the sharing of traditional ecological knowledge with the trainees and build understanding and awareness of Aboriginal cultural heritage values.

“Funding for this project is a significant recognition of the value that regional partnerships can bring in coordinating long-term environmental restoration,” said GRCCC Chairperson Councillor Naji Peter Najjar. “The GRCCC is proud to stand together with LALCs on a project which fosters environmental resilience and community empowerment.”

The Aboriginal Bush Regeneration Team will target their work to restore and improve biodiversity at key sites within eight Local Government Areas in the Georges River catchment.

The sites selected by the GRCCC’s eight participating member councils are important high priority corridor areas, recognized for their high value as critical estuarine and riparian areas in the catchment. Nominated on ground works throughout the eight GRCCC participating member council LGAs include control of invasive weeds, revegetation, regeneration and erosion remediation works.

The GRCCC is an incorporated association of nine local government councils working in partnership with state and federal government agencies and community representatives within the Georges River catchment. It represents local government in the Georges River catchment of NSW.  Member councils include Bankstown City, Campbelltown City, Fairfield City, Hurstville City, Kogarah City, Liverpool City, Rockdale City, Sutherland Shire and Wollondilly Shire councils. The GRCCC is hosted by Hurstville City Council, 2009-2016.

For more information on the program contact

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

We Support