Back to Top

Taylor names strong Wests Tigers team for Eels trial

Wests Tigers

Wests Tigers skipper Robbie Farah at training this week.

Wests Tigers have named a strong 22-man squad for their trial against the Parramatta Eels this Friday night at Alice Springs.

Among those selected for the club’s first NRL trial under new head coach Jason Taylor include international representatives Robbie Farah, Aaron Woods, Martin Taupau, Sauaso Sue and Tim Simona, while new recruits Josh Drinkwater and Kevin Naiqama have also been named following strong performances in the recent NRL Auckland Nines competition.

The 2014 Dally M Rookie of the Year Luke Brooks is unavailable for the match due to his appearance in the NRL All Stars match, while the likes of James Tedesco, David Nofoaluma and Tim Moltzen all continue their injury rehabilitation.

Taylor’s team will face a strong Parramatta side as they do battle for the Royal Flying Doctors’ Service Cup.

Kick-off is set for 7:30pm.

Wests Tigers trial squad (in alphabetical order)

Robbie Farah (captain), Nathan Brown, Josh Drinkwater, Jack Buchanan, Manaia Cherrington, Keith Galloway, Dene Halatau, Delouise Hoeter, Chris Lawrence, Lamar Liolevave, Kyle Lovett, Shannon McDonnell, Mitchell Moses, Kevin Naiqama, Pat Richards, Brenden Santi, Ava Seumanufagai, Tim Simona, Curtis Sironen, Sauaso Sue, Martin Taupau, Aaron Woods.

Wests Tigers NSW Cup and NYC sides will play Penrith this Saturday at Windsor.

The final trial before the season kicks off early in March will be played at Campbelltown Sports Ground, where the Wests Tigers will take on the Cronulla Sharks on Saturday, February 21. The clubs will clash in all three grades, NRL, NSW Cup, and NYC.



We Support