Back to Top

Musical chairs at Wests Tigers, but where’s Chris?

There was more musical chairs when Wests Tigers coach Michael Maguire announced his team for the round 17 clash with Manly this Saturday.

There just wasn’t a chair for club legend Chris Lawrence, who is retiring at the end of this season.

With the club’s finals hopes snuffed out by a rampaging Penrith last weekend, Maguire has made several changes to the side, starting with naming co-captain Moses Mbye at fullback for the first time this season.

Adam Doueihi, one of the better performers in season 2020, moves from fullback to centre, while rookie Asu “AJ” Kepaoa has been named to start the game on the wing in place of Tommy Talau, who seems to have been dropped to the reserves list.

After missing last week’s game due to the birth of his son, Josh Aloiai returns in the front row alongside Thomas Mikaele, while Matt Eisenhuth drops back to the bench.
Eisenhuth takes the place of Shawn Blore, who has been omitted from the squad, with Chris Lawrence, Josh Reynolds and Russell Packer joining Talau in the reserves.

And, sadly, that’s where it looks like 250 gamer Chris Lawrence is going to finish his career.

Many fans would argue that he’s a much better player than Elijah Taylor will ever be, but Maguire must think otherwise, because the latter is being selected, while Lawrence is not .

It will be a crying shame if Lawrence, pictured above, is not given a chance to play one more game before retiring to farewell fans.

The club is out of the finals race, so what would be the problem?

And Chris Lawrence has certainly earned that honour.

1. Moses Mbye (captain.)
2. David Nofoaluma
3. Joey Leilua
4. Adam Doueihi
5. Asu “AJ” Kepaoa
6. Benji Marshall (captain.)
7. Luke Brooks
8. Josh Aloiai
9. Harry Grant
10. Thomas Mikaele
11. Luke Garner
12. Luciano Leilua
13. Alex Twal

14. Matt Eisenhuth
15. Elijah Taylor
16. Jacob Liddle
17. Sam McIntyre

18. Chris Lawrence
19. Tommy Talau
20. Josh Reynolds
21. Russell Packer

We Support