Back to Top

John Therry High wins prize

Russell Matheson

Well done: Member for Macarthur Russell Matheson

Macarthur MP Russell Matheson has congratulated John Therry Catholic High School on being the NSW Secondary School winner of this year’s Anzac Day Schools’ Awards.

The Australian Government Anzac Day Schools’ Awards acknowledges secondary and primary schools that have shown an exceptional commitment to Australia’s wartime history through learning and commemorative activities.

Mr Matheson said he was looking forward to presenting John Therry with its award which included $2000 in prizemoney in recognition of its outstanding entry.

“John Therry received an Anzac Day Schools Award for their Anzac commemorations which the judges said was well structured and covered all aspects of Anzac commemoration including the impacts on veterans, their families and the wider community,” Mr Matheson said.

“I encourage all schools across Macarthur to engage with the upcoming Anzac Centenary commemorations in 2015 and enter the Anzac Day Schools’ Awards next year.”

This year’s Anzac Day Schools’ Awards has seen 34 schools from towns and cities across Australia share in $46,000 in prizemoney through the Department of Veterans’ Affairs Commemorations Program.

Mr Matheson will present John Therry Catholic High School with $2000 and their winner’s certificate and plaque.



For more information on the Anzac Day Schools’ Awards visit

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

We Support