Back to Top

Hospital pain care system earns pleasure of award honour

Award win for Liverpool Hospital's culturally aware pain care system.

Award win: (left to right) James Wood SWSLHD, Colette McGrath SWSLHD, Danny O’Connor WSLHD CE, Maria McCann SWSLHD, Paul Willma Cerner GM, Camilla Lobo SWSLHD, Elizabeth Koff, Angela McClements SWSLHD, Minister for Health Brad Hazzard.

A local ground breaking culturally responsible pain management approach has won a coveted NSW Health Award.

The chronic pain management program was the first of its kind to tailor treatment to incorporate the cultural and linguistic backgrounds of patients and their cultural understanding of pain into their care plan.

Headed by Liverpool Hospital senior physiotherapist Bernadette Brady, the program is leading the country in creating innovative ways to treat culturally and linguistically diverse patients with chronic pain.

Ms Brady’s program focused on the Vietnamese, Assyrian and Mandaean communities in South West Sydney and included group physio sessions facilitated by a translator.

A nine-month trial was so successful in increasing the number of patients attending and finishing treatment that Ms Brady now incorporates much of the trial program in her ongoing treatment of chronic pain patients.

The NSW Health Awards recognise innovation and excellence in the delivery of health programs and services to the NSW community throughout the public health system.

State Member for Holsworthy Melanie Gibbons congratulated all finalists who were nominated, especially Ms Brady who won on the night.

“I believe it is important to recognise those who do so much for our community – especially our medical professionals who are always there to help us during what can be some of the most vulnerable times of our lives,’’ the MP said.

“I congratulate all of our local nominees and thank everyone at Liverpool Hospital for their continued dedication to the health of our locals,” Ms Gibbons said.

South Western Sydney Local Health District chief executive Amanda Larkin also congratulated the finalists on their nominations.

“This is an example of the innovation that is ongoing throughout the District,” she said.

The District also had three other finalists in the awards:

• Aged care and rehabilitation clinical director, Professor Friedbert Kohler, was a finalist in the Collaborative leader of the year category.

•Workplace safety through inventory management: a multi-disciplinary project to improve the environmental design and workplace practices in storerooms to improve staff and patient safety (A safe and healthy workplace category)

• CrisTAL to improve advance care planning: a project to develop an assessment tool for early identification of frail older people presenting at emergency departments at five Sydney hospitals (Health research and innovation category)

The finalists were selected by their peers from more than 160 entries across NSW.

 Liverpool Hospital.

Award: Liverpool Hospital.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

We Support