Benji moves Bateman to lock for Broncos clash at Campbelltown

Photo of author


Wests Tigers coach Benji Marshall has named a 22-man squad for the Anzac round match against the Brisbane Broncos at Campbelltown Sports Stadium this Saturday.

There are a couple of changes to the team following last weekend’s 22-6 loss to the Panthers in Bathurst, with Marshall handing another player his NRL debut.

John Bateman, one of the best performers in the loss to the premiers (pictured above), shifts from the second row to lock, pushing Fonua Pole to the interchange bench, with Samuela Fainu assuming Bateman’s role as an edge forward.

Solomon Alaimalo is set to make his NRL debut on the wing in place of Junior Tupou (foot injury) and will become Wests Tigers Player #283.

The 28-year-old is in his first season at Wests Tigers after playing several seasons of Super Rugby with the Waikato Chiefs, and more recently with Canterbury in New Zealand’s National Provincial Championship.

The team will be playing in a replica of the jersey which was worn against the Broncos in Wests Tigers’ very first game in the NRL.

That match, which was also played at Campbelltown Sports Stadium, ended in a 24-all draw, although it was before golden point was introduced.

Wests Tigers NRL heritage jersey will carry an embroidered poppy as part of this weekend’s Anzac Round commemorations.

Several players from that first match in February 2000 will be attending Saturday’s game and pre-match event as guests of Wests Tigers.

Round 8, Wests Tigers v Brisbane Broncos, 5.30pm, Saturday, April 27, Campbelltown Stadium.


1. Jahream Bula

2. Charlie Staines

3. Brent Naden 

4. Justin Olam

5. Solomon Alaimalo

6. Lachlan Galvin

7. Aidan Sezer

8. Stefano Utoikamanu

9. Apisai Koroisau (c)

10. David Klemmer

11. Isaiah Papali’i

12. Samuela Fainu

13. John Bateman


14. Latu Fainu

15. Alex Twal

16. Alex Seyfarth

17. Fonua Pole

Leave a Comment