Back to Top

A 51-6 massacre, but Maguire names same team for Gold Coast clash

Despite a humiliating 51-6 loss to Parramatta yesterday, Wests Tigers head coach Michael Maguire has named an unchanged team for the round seven game against the Gold Coast Titans.

The game – a “home game’’ for the wests Tigers – will be played in Scully Park, Tamworth on Saturday, with a 5.30pm kick off scheduled.

Both Robbie Farah and Luke Garner have been named despite suffering concussions in the Easter Monday defeat to Parramatta, and will be monitored by the club’s medical staff throughout the week.

Luke Brooks is also free to play after taking the early guilty plea for a grade one dangerous throw during the Eels clash.

Maguire will be hoping his side can quickly turn things around after the horrible performance at Western Sydney Stadium.

The new stadium at Parramatta was almost full, with a crowd of just over 29,000 turning up for the very first game there on Monday.

After an arm wrestle during the first 10 minutes things fell apart for Wests Tigers, and the game waseffectively over after 30 minutes when the Eels led 30-0.

A try just before half time made it 30-6 and offered a glimmer of hope for die hard Wests Tigers fans.

But the second half was even worse, with Parramatta carving up the Wests Tigers through the middle for another four tries – nine in total for the match.

Former Wests Tigers half Mitchell Moses rubbed salt into the wound by kicking a field goal for the final scoreline of 51-6.

There’s no way to sugar coat the effort from Wests Tigers – it was bad and the coach’s grim look at the post match media conference told the story; all fans can do now is cross their fingers and hope it’s a one off.

Wests Tigers v Gold Coast Titans:

1. Moses Mbye (captain.)

2. Mahe Fonua

3. Robert Jennings

4. Esan Marsters

5. Corey Thompson

6. Josh Reynolds

7. Luke Brooks

8. Russell Packer

9. Robbie Farah

10. Alex Twal

11. Ryan Matterson

12. Luke Garner

13. Josh Aloiai


14. Ben Matulino

15. Thomas Mikaele

16. Matt Eisenhuth

17. Michael Chee Kam


18. Paul Momirovski

19. Elijah Taylor

20. David Nofoaluma

21. Chris McQueen